Really Juicy, Flavorful Grilled Chicken

I love this chicken!  The rub provides so much flavor and because the chicken is pounded thin, it seers really quickly and therefore stays really moist.  Enjoy.

First I make this dry rub from Epicurious.com with two changes.  I leave out the dried savory because I have a hard time finding it.  But by all means use it if you have it.  And I change the salt to coarsely ground sea salt.

Dry Chimichurri Rub Recipe at Epicurious.com.

For the Chicken:

  • 2 tablespoons Chimichurri dry rub
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 to 4 boneless, skinless organic chicken breasts
  • grill, griddle or grill pan, parchment paper & mallet
Heat grill or grill pan to medium-high heat.  I use a cast iron griddle with a grill on one side.  It is a large one that covers two burners.  I like it because it gets very hot but the temperature is easy to control.  I have never mastered the temperature on a charcoal grill.  And as much as I love that charcoal flavor, the char is a known carcinogen.
Place a chicken breast between two pieces of parchment paper and pound until a 1/2-inch thickness.  Repeat with remaining breasts.
Mix the dry rub and olive oil together.  With your hands, slather the herb/oil mixture onto each breast.  Really rub the herbs onto the chicken so they adhere.  Grill each side of the chicken for 3 to 4 minutes.  The cooking time may vary slightly depending on the grill temperature and the thinness of the chicken.  I cut into the thickest part of the breast to check for doneness.  You can also insert an instant read thermometer into the thickest part of the breast.  It should be 165 degrees Fahrenheit.  Whatever you do, don’t overcook it!
I like my chicken sliced over a salad. My husband likes to make a sandwich.
 
Leave a Reply

